Thursday, September 01, 2016

Review- When We Collided by Emery Lord

 BOOK SUMMARY:

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.


Release date: April 7th 2016
Published by: Bloomsbury Children's
Page numbers: 344

REVIEW: 


When We Collided is another book I received in the Bloomsbury Bundle giveaway that I won on Instagram. Most of my fellow bloggers and reading buddies who took part in the contest were supremely excited for this particular book. That made me curious, yes, but seeing as I don't read summaries because I like my books to surprise me, I had no idea what was in store for me when I finally decided to give When We Collided a go. I now understand why so many people wanted to read it so bad. This book- to put it simply- is beautiful. 

The book goes from alternating female and male protagonist points of view. So on the one hand we have the chirpy, cute but sometimes totally unbelievable for her age and very reckless voice of Vivi, our female protagonist. Now Vivi was somewhere between the same old YA girl and a very fresh and new character. While she was extremely unique and beautiful in her uniqueness and while I did get the fact that things were difficult for her, I did feel that she was careless and reckless sometimes; which is neither a turn on nor a turn off, but it's just stupid sometimes. 

Nonetheless, Vivi's character brought so much of colour to the rather black world of our male protagonist, Jonah. A complete contrast to Vivi, on the other hand, Jonah was a responsible and sensible seventeen year old, but it is his situation that has made him that way. He was mature enough to understand the priorities that came his way, rather than focus on creating them. I found him to be extremely adorable, sweet, kind and beautiful. Jonah's family played a very important role in the book, because it just as much about them, as it is about Vivi and him. His family was probably the best part about the book. 

Together, Jonah and Vivi painted this beautiful picture of contrasts. A book that started out as adorable and cute, When We Collided went on to become beautiful and shattering. And it is this transition that made reading the story so amazing. Add to that author Emery Lord's crisp and wonderful writing and storytelling. This book made me laugh and cry, and it was beautiful in every way. It's one of those books that help you realise that irrespective of all the struggles people go through, they are kind, and sometimes, that's really all that you need to know. 

Buy the book: AMAZON/ FLIPKART

3 comments:

  1. I loved this one, though I love all of Lord's books. Especially Vivi though, her character was so out of of this world and strange and unique that I loved it even more. Great review, glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. nice review! :)
    loved the cover, simple yet colorful!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Battery Mantra Buy Car and Inverter battery online in India. BatteryMantra is Noida based India's No. 1 online battery store offering you genuine batteries of all the well-known battery brands at best prices.

    Online Inverter Battery Store
    Online Car Battery Store
    Buy Inverter battery Dealer Noida
    Buy battery online Noida
    Online Inverter Battery Store
    Buy car battery Noida

    ReplyDelete


Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us. We really appreciate it!