Saturday, February 02, 2013

Blog Tour: Guest Post + Review- Persistence Of Vision by Liesel K. Hill

Hello, everyone! 
Today is our stop on the Persistence Of Vision Blog Tour



GOODREADS SUMMARY OF PERSISTENCE OF VISION: 

In a world where collective hives are enslaving the population and individuals have been hunted to the verge of extinction, Maggie Harper, and independent 21st Century woman, must find the strength to preserve the freedom of the future, but without the aid of her memories.

After experiencing a traumatic time loss, Maggie is plagued by a barrage of images she can't explain. When she's attacked by a creep with a spider's web tattoo, she is saved by Marcus, a man she's never met, but somehow remembers. He tells her that both he and her creepy attacker are from a future in which individuals are being murdered by collectives, and Marcus is part of the rebellion. The collectives have acquired time travel and they plan to enslave the human race throughout all of history. The flashes Maggie has been seeing are echoes of lost memories, and the information buried deep within them is instrumental in defeating the collective hives.

In order to preserve the individuality of mankind, Maggie must try to re-discover stolen memories, re-kindle friendships she has no recollection of, and wade through her feelings for the mysterious Marcus, all while dodging the tattooed assassins the collectives keep sending her way.

If Maggie can't fill the holes in her memory and find the answers to stop the collectives, the world both in her time and in all ages past and future will be doomed to enslavement in the grey, mediocre collectives. As the danger swirls around her and the collectives close in, Maggie realizes she must make a choice: stand out or fade away...

*New Adult futuristic dystopian fantasy


SARIKA'S REVIEW OF PERSISTENCE OF VISION: 

*NOTE: We (The Readdicts) received a copy of Persistence Of Vision from author Liesel K. Hill in exchange for an honest review. We thank Liesel for the book! 

"In a Persistence Of Vision, you keep seeing something that was there, even after it's gone. You look at the sun and then you shut your eyes, and you'll still see a purple sun flaring behind your eyelids. Persistence Of Vision is the term for the phenomenon of seeing it, even after it's gone." 

Absolutely cool stuff, right? 
I read Persistence Of Vision as part of the Persistence Of Vision Blog Tour organised by author and fellow book blogger, Liesel K. Hill. I love reading New Adult books. I have read a few dystopians and fantasies and really found them to be interesting and different. Besides, concepts like futuristic and intergalactic intrigue me. I knew Persistence Of Vision would be antithetical to what I normally read. I mean, it has everything in it. Not only is it New Adult, Dystopian or fantasy, but it is a New Adult Futuristic Dystopian Fantasy. 
The whole concept of Persistence Of Vision is really very thorough, intelligent and truly interesting. I cannot think of any words beyond 'intelligent' and 'interesting' to describe the book because that is just what it was. It was something totally different, detailed and deep. It has Science, Psychology, Politics and Psychophysics, subjects that really interest me. 
Maggie is taken into the future as she is part of a Prophecy that will aid in changing the traumatic situation of the future. This future is plagued by neurological rapes, a battle between collectivism and individualism and Maggie faces the challenge of doing all that she can to better the situation after having lost all memories from the last time she was in the future. A team of very clever and sharp individuals who are in charge of uplifting the current and are part of the Prophecy as well help Maggie in making her trip to the future informative, innovative and interesting. 
Persistence Of Vision can be best described using a line from the book itself: 

"...the awesome power of it all- hit her with such force that it took her breath away." 

It was such a riveting and sharp read with it's details, depth, excellent plot and sheer magnitude. I know that the details were needed, but I found myself drifting away at times when explanations were too long and there were times when things went over my head. 
I am not particularly fond of books with too much of depth to it, but I overall liked reading Persistence Of Vision. The book has factual information and just reading it makes you feel like you know something that maybe others don't. Author Liesel K. Hill has written a great book, the plot of which looks really promising and gripping. Fans of Science Fiction, Dystopians, Fantasies and Futuristic or all these genres put in one are in for a totally new and reverberant ride with Persistence Of Vision

RATING: 




ABOUT LIESEL K. HILL (FROM GOODREADS): 


Writes across three genres: scif/fantasy, historical fiction, and crime drama. Graduate of Weber State University and lover of all things fantastical! :D

ADDITIONAL LINKS: 


Website: Interchron



Twitter: @lkhillbooks

Pinterest: lkhillbooks

Goodreads Author Page: Liesel K. Hill

Goodreads Book Page: Persistence Of Vision 


GUEST POST: 

 For our stop on the tour, author Liesel K. Hill  has written a very interesting and informative Guest Post for us where she describes her general writing process. 
I love how Liesel gets her work done with three drafts. That's some really cool info and as a reader, I love knowing more about what goes into making a book. 

Thank you so much for the Guest Post, Liesel! It was great having you on our blog and it's been so nice to be part of the Tour. We wish you all the very best! 

Here we go! 


What’s Beethoven got to do with the Price of Freedom?

 Hi Everyone! Thank so much to Janhvi and Sarika for having me here today. They asked me to talk about my writing process and how/what inspires my stories and characters. 

 So, before I can write, I absolutely have to eat two squares of dark chocolate, jump backward fifteen times before the sun rises, and wrap a twist-tie around my index finger three times. 

 Just kidding! I’ve made jokes like this before. In truth, my writing process is pretty boring. Sometimes I’ll put on classical music like Beethoven or Tchaikovsky to keep my brain clear and focused, but more often I just have silence. 

 I don’t ever picture any particular actors for my characters, nor do I necessarily use music to help me define a character. I do use music to get me in the mood to write a particular scene, though. If it’s going to be tragic, I’ll listen to sad or angsty songs. If it’s action packed, I’ll listen to rock to get the adrenaline pumping. If it’s characters in a dystopia fighting for freedom, I go with angry guy music or revolutionary songs. That sort of thing. 

 I’m someone who has trouble writing every single day, but probably not for the reason you think. I tend to do my writing a chapter at a time and because I don’t write YA, my chapters can be rather lengthy. I have this weird thing where I have to come to a decent closing point for the scene or chapter. Even if I’ve already written 5,000 words, I have to keep going until I hit that point. Which means I tend to have four hour writing sessions. Because of that, I often only write two or three days out of the week. 


 After that, my wonderful critique group gets the chapter. They see the rawest material and edit it for grammer/mechanical errors, story, characterization, and continuity. Then I go back, take their suggestions into account and edit accordingly. 


 When the entire novel is finished, I put it all together into one document and edit again, start to finish. After that, I often see if any of the group wants to edit the entire thing for me. This is much less detailed; just a once-over as a finished piece. There are some things that get picked up when reading as a whole that get passed over when reading chapter to chapter. 


 After that, I may go over any parts they indicate need work, but for the most part it’s done. Time to send it to my publisher! Yea! 


 So, that’s my somewhat boring writing process. It always floors me when I hear about writers that go through ten or twelve drafts of a story. I just don’t have that level of dedication. I go through three. Tops. And there’s not a whole lot of difference between them. The work is actually much more fun than I’ve probably made it sound here. I sort of revel in it. And you know, hopefully it produces a decent story or two.


 Every writer just has to seek out the process that works for them. No two are alike. Happy Saturday, Everyone, and may our edits always reflect our finest efforts! :D













Sarika

5 comments:

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me today, Sarika! The post looks great! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the book. Thank you for your kind words! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And I am so pleased you like the post. The pleasure is all mine and thank you too, Liesel! ♥

      Delete
  2. Over descriptive writing can be boring sometimes, but I'm glad you still enjoyed it. I really like the prophecy stuff, and I can't wait to read this book. Right now I'm taking a break from starting new dystopian series, so hopefully soon.
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. At the same time, I think over description is necessary in a dystopian novel, because it is a different set-up altogether. I hope you get to it soon. Thanks, Aman! :)

      Delete
  3. This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I love seeing websites that understand the value of providing a quality resource for free.
    orlando holiday home rental

    ReplyDelete


Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us. We really appreciate it!