Saturday, February 02, 2013

Review- Persistence Of Vision by Liesel K. Hill

Goodreads Summary:

In a world where collective hives are enslaving the population and individuals have been hunted to the verge of extinction, Maggie Harper, and independent 21st Century woman, must find the strength to preserve the freedom of the future, but without the aid of her memories.

After experiencing a traumatic time loss, Maggie is plagued by a barrage of images she can't explain. When she's attacked by a creep with a spider's web tattoo, she is saved by Marcus, a man she's never met, but somehow remembers. He tells her that both he and her creepy attacker are from a future in which individuals are being murdered by collectives, and Marcus is part of the rebellion. The collectives have acquired time travel and they plan to enslave the human race throughout all of history. The flashes Maggie has been seeing are echoes of lost memories, and the information buried deep within them is instrumental in defeating the collective hives.

In order to preserve the individuality of mankind, Maggie must try to re-discover stolen memories, re-kindle friendships she has no recollection of, and wade through her feelings for the mysterious Marcus, all while dodging the tattooed assassins the collectives keep sending her way.

If Maggie can't fill the holes in her memory and find the answers to stop the collectives, the world both in her time and in all ages past and future will be doomed to enslavement in the grey, mediocre collectives. As the danger swirls around her and the collectives close in, Maggie realizes she must make a choice: stand out or fade away...

*New Adult futuristic dystopian fantasy


REVIEW:

*NOTE: We (The Readdicts) received a copy of Persistence Of Vision from author Liesel K. Hill in exchange for an honest review. We thank Liesel for the book! 

"In a Persistence Of Vision, you keep seeing something that was there, even after it's gone. You look at the sun and then you shut your eyes, and you'll still see a purple sun flaring behind your eyelids. Persistence Of Vision is the term for the phenomenon of seeing it, even after it's gone." 

Absolutely cool stuff, right? 
I read Persistence Of Vision as part of the Persistence Of Vision Blog Tour organised by author and fellow book blogger, Liesel K. Hill. I love reading New Adult books. I have read a few dystopians and fantasies and really found them to be interesting and different. Besides, concepts like futuristic and intergalactic intrigue me. I knew Persistence Of Vision would be antithetical to what I normally read. I mean, it has everything in it. Not only is it New Adult, Dystopian or fantasy, but it is a New Adult Futuristic Dystopian Fantasy. 
The whole concept of Persistence Of Vision is really very thorough, intelligent and truly interesting. I cannot think of any words beyond 'intelligent' and 'interesting' to describe the book because that is just what it was. It was something totally different, detailed and deep. It has Science, Psychology, Politics and Psychophysics, subjects that really interest me. 
Maggie is taken into the future as she is part of a Prophecy that will aid in changing the traumatic situation of the future. This future is plagued by neurological rapes, a battle between collectivism and individualism and Maggie faces the challenge of doing all that she can to better the situation after having lost all memories from the last time she was in the future. A team of very clever and sharp individuals who are in charge of uplifting the current and are part of the Prophecy as well help Maggie in making her trip to the future informative, innovative and interesting. 
Persistence Of Vision can be best described using a line from the book itself: 

"...the awesome power of it all- hit her with such force that it took her breath away." 

It was such a riveting and sharp read with it's details, depth, excellent plot and sheer magnitude. I know that the details were needed, but I found myself drifting away at times when explanations were too long and there were times when things went over my head. 
I am not particularly fond of books with too much of depth to it, but I overall liked reading Persistence Of Vision. The book has factual information and just reading it makes you feel like you know something that maybe others don't. Author Liesel K. Hill has written a great book, the plot of which looks really promising and gripping. Fans of Science Fiction, Dystopians, Fantasies and Futuristic or all these genres put in one are in for a totally new and reverberant ride with Persistence Of Vision

RATING:




Sarika


12 comments:

  1. Howdy! This blog post couldn't be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Feel free to visit my site Michael Kors Canada

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this web site daily, if so then you will
    without doubt get good experience.

    Feel free to visit my web site - Louis Vuitton Bags

    ReplyDelete
  3. When someone writes an article he/she retains
    the thought of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be
    aware of it. Thus that's why this post is great. Thanks!

    Here is my web site Louis Vuitton Bags Outlet

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are
    a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You
    have done a extraordinary job!

    my blog post; Nike Free 5.0

    ReplyDelete
  5. Greate article. Keep posting such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You've performed a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and for my part suggest to my friends. I'm confident they'll be benefited from this site.

    Also visit my weblog :: Click This Link

    ReplyDelete
  6. What's up, for all time i used to check web site posts here early in the dawn, since i enjoy to learn more and more.

    Feel free to surf to my homepage: http://www.video-series.com/read_blog/144272/bass-outlet:-a-sensible-decision-to-store-for-top-quality-sneakers

    ReplyDelete
  7. I read this article completely regarding the comparison of newest and earlier
    technologies, it's amazing article.

    Also visit my blog Tory Burch Shoes

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yes! Finally someone writes about compression fracture back.


    Feel free to visit my web site: Nike Free Tilbud

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for one's marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future. I want to encourage that you continue your great writing, have a nice weekend!

    Also visit my blog: Air Jordan

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of
    the images aren't loading correctly. I'm not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I've tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

    Feel free to surf to my site ... Sac Louis Vuitton Pas Cher (beyonddelay.com)

    ReplyDelete
  11. It's a shame you don't have a donate button! I'd definitely donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i'll settle
    for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will share this website
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Here is my web-site ... Nike Blazers High

    ReplyDelete
  12. Buy Car and Inverter battery online in India. We are Noida based India's No. 1 online battery store offering you genuine batteries of all the well-known battery brands at best prices.

    Inverter Battery Dealer in Noida
    Battery Dealer in Noida
    Authorized Battery Dealer in Noida
    Car Battery Dealer in Noida
    Buy Battery Online

    ReplyDelete


Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time out to share your thoughts with us. We really appreciate it!